Ways to earn / Digital products
Print-on-demand shirts and mugs: is it worth it? (2026)
Worth a try checked 2026-10-08
Make designs with AI help and let a print partner such as Printify print and ship mugs, shirts or posters to your Etsy customers, so you never hold stock.
At a glance
| Time each day | 30 minutes a day |
|---|---|
| Set-up, once | about 5 hours |
| Cost to start | about USD 16, then about USD 6 a month |
| First dollar, if it works | 8 to 30 weeks |
| Who does the work | About 70% of the work can be done by an AI helper; the rest is you |
| Fits people looking for | extra income on the side, a creative outlet, a long game |
| It involves | some spending |
What you are selling
A printed product that someone else makes and ships. You earn the difference between the price you set and the print partner's cost, minus Etsy's fees. Most of your effort goes into getting listings seen.
What the evidence says about money
No reliable income data for print-on-demand sellers on Etsy was found, so no monthly range is given. Etsy's marketplace is mature and crowded, and each sale pays after print cost plus Etsy fees of roughly 10% before ads (listing, transaction and payment processing), so margins per item are thin. The free Printify plan works, so there is no need to pay for Premium at the start. Most new shops sell little or nothing for months.
How sure are we: Our own assumption, not verified.
What only you can do, once
- Open the Etsy seller account and complete identity and bank checks
- Open a Printify account and connect it to the Etsy shop
- Order one sample of each product type to check quality before listing
- Review and approve each design and listing, including the AI disclosure
A first week
| Day | What happens | Who | Minutes |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Create the Etsy seller account and verify your identity | You | 25 |
| 2 | Create a free Printify account and connect it to the Etsy shop | You | 20 |
| 3 | Your AI helper proposes one niche and 5 original design ideas that avoid brands and characters | AI helper | 10 |
| 4 | Your AI helper generates the designs and mockups for review | AI helper | 10 |
| 5 | Review every design, reject anything that resembles an existing brand or character, order one sample | You | 25 |
| 6 | Your AI helper prepares titles, tags and descriptions with the AI and production-partner disclosure; you publish 5 listings | You | 30 |
| 7 | Log views and favorites for each listing | You | 5 |
The rules where it happens
- Etsy: You press publish yourself. Sellers must disclose AI use in the listing description and disclose that an item is made by a production partner. AI designs must be based on the seller's original prompts. Etsy API terms ban support for mass-produced listings that conflict with the Creativity Standards. Source
- Printify: You do it by hand inside the platform. Policy updates dated Sep 17, 2026: users must review, edit and approve AI-generated content before publishing or submitting an order, and must disclose AI-generated content where a sales channel or law requires it; automated access such as crawlers and scrapers is barred. Free plan is 0 USD with 5 stores; Premium is from 39 USD a month (24.99 USD a month billed yearly). Source
The hard part: where people quit
The moment: Designs that nobody finds. Why: Print on demand is crowded and AI designs have made it more so. What helps: Pick a narrow niche you know. Review every design yourself, the platform requires it.
When to stop
If after 12 weeks and about 30 live listings there are no sales, stop or switch path. Do not pay for Printify Premium or Etsy ads before the first sale.
What can go wrong
- Highly crowded niche; AI makes similar designs easy for everyone
- A design that looks like a protected character, logo or brand can be removed and can lead to account suspension
- Etsy may remove listings and suspend shops at its discretion, and fees stay owed
- Purely AI-generated images generally lack copyright protection, so others may copy them
- Print quality or late delivery by the partner leads to refunds and bad reviews unless a sample is ordered first
Age, region and other limits
Minimum age 18. Etsy requires sellers to be 18. Etsy Payments is available for shops in many countries; check that yours is on Etsy's list. Printify's page does not state a minimum age or a seller-country list; Printify's Sep 2026 terms add a section on risk transfer for orders to EU member states.
Sources
- Etsy Creativity Standards (last updated Jun 10, 2025): sellers must disclose AI use and disclose items made by a production partner; seller-prompted AI creations qualify; Etsy may remove listings and fees remain owed. [P]
- Etsy fees page: 0.20 USD listing, 6.5% transaction fee, 2.5% currency conversion, Offsite Ads 15% or 12%; processing fee depends on bank location. [P]
- Printify pricing page: Free plan 0 USD/month with 5 stores, Premium from 39 USD/month (24.99 USD/month billed yearly), Etsy integration in both plans, 2,000+ products from 70+ print providers (page undated, footer 2025). [P]
- Printify policy updates page: Sep 17, 2026 terms require users to review, edit and approve AI-generated content before publishing, disclose it where a channel or law requires, and bar scrapers; Jul 8, 2026 users are responsible for customer-provided content on marketplaces; Jun 30, 2026 Printify may restrict access to compliance or marketplace information used for other purposes. [P]
- Etsy Payments help article lists the available countries. [P]
- Printify knowledge-hub article (Dec 16, 2025, vendor content): purely AI-generated images generally lack copyright protection, avoid prompts naming copyrighted characters or brands, review every output manually. [S]
- Assumption: Etsy fees of roughly 10% before ads come from 6.5% transaction fee plus a payment processing fee of about 3% quoted by secondary sources (not stated on Etsy's fee page); startup of about USD 16 covers a design sample and some listing fees. [A]
Platform rules and fees: www.etsy.com · www.etsy.com · www.etsy.com · printify.com · printify.com
Related
- Sell small AI tools: agent skills, connectors, automations (Watch, not proven yet)
- Sell a guide or small paid group on Whop or Skool (Watch, not proven yet)
- Launch a very small AI-built app or online service (Watch, not proven yet)
- Printables and Canva templates on Etsy (Worth a try)
- Short guides, checklists and spreadsheets on your own storefront (Worth a try)
- Notion templates (budget, planner, tracker) (Worth a try)
Get the Recipe Pack, USD 19 What is in the pack Try the Restmode app
Normal price USD 19. Code LAUNCH takes 40% off for the first 25 buyers.
Our method, written down, with sources. No income promise.